The first steps to Squared

Is it just me, or are the opening lines to blogs and their titles one of the hardest things to write? So, fluffiness aside, let’s jump straight to the juicy bits and I’ll explain why I’m here in the first place.

Joining Squared was not an impulse decision, I have been working in digital marketing now for just over 3 years and with no formal training I loved the idea that I could be part of something unique, something that stretched my imagination and inspired me to challenge my assumptions.

So, what am I looking to gain from Squared Online?
This is pretty easy for me to answer, I’m looking to gain confidence. I’m no longer content with being just confident in my area of expertise, social media. I’d like to be able to talk, strategise and act with confidence across the entire digital marketing spectrum. This isn’t to say that I want to become a jack of all trades and master of none, far from it. But it’s time to up my game and having higher levels of confidence across a variety of areas will hopefully help me to put all of the digital pieces together.

What does digital marketing mean to me?
I was thrilled to see my favourite Ben Solis quote pop up in our first lecture:

“Social Media [and Digital Marketing] is about Psychology and Sociology, much more so than technology”

When I read this quote the sociologist within me starts kicking and screaming, and no, not because sociology finally has a modern day purpose, but because the theory behind the quote is undeniable, and this is one of the areas that I am excited to explore further.

Social Media Degree

To me, digital marketing (without wanting to sound corny) is the future. Digital media is becoming increasingly embedded into our daily lives, often without us even realising and it’s this (rather creepy thought) that intrigues me.

I’m looking to Squared Online and my fellow Squares to help reveal new avenues of thought, to help me develop meaningful relationships and new skills. I feel really lucky to be apart of a programme that puts the digital (r)evolution in our hands and I look forward to sharing my learnings and digital musings throughout the duration of the course.

Leave a comment